About the Mid-Atlantic Rowing Conference

Prior to the formation of the Mid-Atlantic Rowing Conference, the nine charter member schools - Bryn Mawr College, Franklin & Marshall College, Johns Hopkins University, Marietta College, the University of Mary Washington, North Park University, Richard Stockton College, Rutgers University-Camden, and Washington College - enjoyed an affiliation due to their annual competition at the Mid-Atlantic Division III Rowing Championships, formerly the Atlantic Collegiate League Sprints Championships. In late 2008, the rowing programs at the nine schools expressed a common desire to formalize their association in order to enhance the student-athlete experience for their rowers. From that desire, the Mid-Atlantic Rowing Conference was born in January 2009 and the Mid-Atlantic Division III Rowing Championships became the Mid-Atlantic Rowing Conference Championships. Later that winter, Johns Hopkins announced its decision to discontinue its varsity rowing programs following the 2008-09 academic year and the MARC dropped to eight schools after its initial season of competition. The MARC lost another charter member following the completion of the 2013-14 academic year when the University of Mary Washington discontinued its sponsorship of the sport.

The first expansion of the MARC came in the fall of 2015 when first-year varsity women's program Johnson & Wales joined the league. In April 2016, the MARC also voted to open up its men's championship to non-members competing at the annual championship regatta, beginning that same spring. The conference welcomed two new members in St. Mary's (Md.) and Cabrini for the 2016-17 academic year and three - Adrian, Catholic, and Ohio Wesleyan - for the 2018-19 academic year. Bucknell's men's program was added in the fall of 2018. Meanwhile, Rutgers-Camden discontinued its program in 2017. The MARC is now the largest conference in Division III women's rowing, both in terms of number of schools and in geographic spread.

MARC Membership History

Adrian: 2018-present
Bryn Mawr: 2008-present
Bucknell: 2018-present
Cabrini: 2016-present
Catholic: 2018-present
Franklin & Marshall: 2008-present
Johns Hopkins: 2008-2009
Johnson & Wales: 2015-present
Marietta: 2008-present
Mary Washington: 2008-14
North Park: 2008-present
Ohio Wesleyan: 2018-present
Rutgers-Camden: 2008-17
St. Mary's (Md.): 2016-present
Stockton (formerly Richard Stockton): 2008-present
Washington College: 2008-present


For general questions regarding the Mid-Atlantic Rowing Conference should be directed to Carol Bower at cbower@brynmawr.edu. For questions regarding the MARC web site, please contact Phil Ticknor at pticknor2@washcoll.edu. Questions regarding the individual rowing programs should be directed to individual coaches. Their contact information can be found by following the links here.